A Coeducational School | Pre-Kindergarten to Third Grade

Governing Board

As an independent school, Beauvoir is a part of the Protestant Episcopal Foundation (PECF). Beauvoir is organized as a not-for-profit institution and governed by a volunteer Governing Board of Trustees. 

The Governing Board is comprised of parents, alumni, educators and community leaders. Board terms are three years, with the option to renew. Each January, the Governance Committee begins a process to bring new members to the Board for the upcoming school year. Beauvoir’s Head of School and the Episcopal Bishop of Washington, DC, are permanent members of Beauvoir’s Board. 

Governing Board Members

The Rt. Reverend
Mariann Edgar Budde
Mr. Michael Eanes
Interim Head of School
Mrs. Rhonda Schmidtlein*
Board Chair
Mr. William Kappaz*
Mr. Michael Rankin*
Mr. Cedric Bobo
Mrs. Elena Botelho
Mrs. Nancy M. Carr
Mr. Mukang Cho
Ms. Pyper Davis
Ms. Laura DeBonis
Mr. Colin Dowling
Mrs. Charis M. Drant*
Mr. Scott Jaeckel
Ms. Suzanna Kang, PA President
Mrs. Melanie Lago, Faculty Representative
Mrs. Alice Leiter '89
Ms. Enu Mainigi*
Mrs. Catherine Martin*
Mrs. Ashley Lemon Shaw ‘78
Mr. Stephen Hayes Smith
Mrs. Tamika Smith-Jackson
Ms. Mallory Stewart

*Denotes Executive Committee member
3500 Woodley Road, NW
Washington, DC 20016
Tel: (202) 537-6485
Fax: (202) 537-6512

Our Mission

At Beauvoir, the National Cathedral Elementary School, we provide an extraordinary early childhood education in a diverse community that values every individual. Beauvoir’s program encourages creative, courageous learners and builds an enduring foundation for a lifelong spirit of inquiry and joy in learning.
© 2018 - Beauvoir, The National Cathedral Elementary School